What to do with MORE butternut squash

Once again, my box included butternut squash. Great. I’m tired of making soups and risotto with it–what else could I do? Luckily, my internship rotation now is in a kitchen for a corporate office building, which means I am able to pick the chef’s brain! (thanks Shawn!) I told him my situation and he said, “how about gratin?”. Hmm….I never would have thought of that! BRILLIANT!

This is what happened:

I peeled the raw squash, and sliced it very thinly. I buttered a casserole dish, and put a layer of the squash down. i sprinkled on some parmesan and mozzarella cheese, then a little milk. I repeated the process a few times, then stuck the thing in the oven on 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Enough said.

What a great way to use the squash! My boyfriend was so tired of squash, but he ate this without any nagging! Try it out 🙂

Book an appointment here! Marina Bedrossian, RDN, CDN, CLT is a family holistic dietitian who specializes in nutrition for digestive issues, nutrition for Autism, ADHD, and nutrition for food sensitivities. 

Leave a Reply

