Red Celery….?

Have you ever seen/eaten rhubarb? You know, it looks like red celery…..or at least that’s what someone I know thought it was :). Beware though, you definitely wouldn’t want to eat rhubarb raw like you might celery. It is very sour, but also has a great taste (you may have tried it in a pie before). Anyway, this came in my box last week, and since I didn’t have an excuse to make a whole pie, I decided to make a..sort of compote with the rhubarb.

I just used

  • a bunch of rhubarb stalks (not the leaves!), chopped up finely
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of sugar (or honey)–you might want to make it sweeter, whatever suits you!

I put it all in a sauce pan, and cooked on medium-low until the mixture thickened. Then I pureed it with my wonderful hand blender.

I love to flavor my plain non-fat yogurt (especially Greek yogurt) with this concoction. If I had vanilla ice cream or apple sauce, I’d mix some of this in too. Try it out!

I realize that some things I get from my CSA box are quite foreign to most people. And if you don’t have a CSA box, you might not be too interested in some posts “from the box”. Either way, I urge you to buy a new fruit or vegetable at least twice a month. This way, you can learn how to prepare it, and you might learn that you’ve just met your long-lost favorite food! Give it a shot. Besides, variety is the spice of life!

Book an appointment here! Marina Bedrossian, RDN, CDN, CLT is a family holistic dietitian who specializes in nutrition for digestive issues, nutrition for Autism, ADHD, and nutrition for food sensitivities. 

Leave a Reply

